What is today’s date in Urdu?

Photo of author
Written By Muhammad Usman

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet consectetur pulvinar ligula augue quis venenatis. 

Today’s Date in Urdu: – All religions have their distinct astronomical calculations, which determine the days, months, and years.

The most important aspect in determining dates in Hindu and Muslim religions are the sun and moon-based calculations. In Islam, the moon is considered the basis for determining dates, which helps us understand today’s date in Urdu.

In this article, we will try to understand the date in the Islamic calendar and why there are changes in the dates of Muslim festivals every year. We will also delve into the history of the Islamic calendar’s creation and other related facts.

Today’s Date in Urdu

 The Islamic calendar, also known as the Hijri calendar, calculates dates and festivals according to the moon.

As of now, the year is 2022 in the Gregorian calendar and 1443 in the Hijri calendar. This illustrates the significant difference between the English and Islamic calendars. As of this writing, the date in Urdu is 7 Dhu al-Qadah 1443 AH.

This time, June 2, 2022, has been announced as the first date of the month in the Muslim calendar. This announcement has been made by the Emirate Sharia Hind and the Hilal Committee Ajmer. Since the first moon of the month of Ju al-Qadah was not seen, the month in the Urdu calendar is of 30 days.

Islamic Calendar

The Hijri calendar, also known as the Hijri calendar, is accepted in all Muslim countries and is used by the Muslim population in other countries to celebrate their festivals and holidays.

The Muslim calendar has twelve months and 354 or 355 days, based on the rotation of the moon. Therefore, they lag 11 days behind the English years, which are based on the rotation of the sun. Each year in this is called Hijri.

The first year in this is considered the departure or migration of Prophet Muhammad from Mecca. This departure or migration is called Hijrat.

When writing, H, which represents Hijri, or AH, is written after each year. AH in Latin means Anno Hijri, which means ‘in the year of the Hijri ’.

BH is used to know the history of Islamic events before Hijrat and to determine the time, which means before Hijri in English. 53 BH is used for the birth of Prophet Muhammad. The current Hijri year is 1443 AH.

Also Read: The Best Online Ordering System for Restaurants in 2023

Formation of the Islamic Calendar

According to the cultural beliefs of the Arabs, it is said that Abraha, the Yemen governor of the Aksum Empire of Ethiopia, who was a believer in Christianity, attacked Mecca in 570 AD to annihilate the city of Kaaba. It is said that he launched this attack with his full military power, which also included a contingent of elephants.

However, he failed to conquer Mecca, suffered a significant defeat, and had to retreat. This year is referred to as “Amm Al-Feel” in Arab culture and Muslim countries, which means “Year of the Elephants”. It is celebrated with great enthusiasm in Muslim countries as Victory Day.

The Arabs created a new calendar based on this year, the first month of which begins with Amm Al-Feel. This entire sequence of events is mentioned in the Surah “Al-Feel” of the Quran.

How is the Islamic date determined?

You should know that an Islamic month is either 29 or 30 days long. The determination of whether the month will be of 30 days or 29 days is known at the end of the month.

For instance, immediately after sunset on the 29th day, if the new moon is visible, then the next day marks the beginning of the new month. If the moon is not visible after sunset on the 29th day, then the next day will be the 30th.

Based on this, a month in the Muslim calendar is either 29 or 30 days long. Each year, there are 10 to 11 fewer days as per the Gregorian calendar in the Islamic calendar. Therefore, Muslim festivals occur on different dates or months each year, it’s not fixed and this cycle is of 32 years.

After 32 years, the festivals start again on the same day. For example, if a Muslim festival occurs on May 1, it will occur again on May 1, 32 years later.

Names of Islamic months

  1. Muharram (Full name: Muharram ul-Haram)
  2. Safar (Full name: Safar ul-Muzaffar)
  3. Rabi al-Awwal (Rabi ul-Awwal) – Milad un-Nabi – Eid e Milad –
  4. Rabi al-Thani (or Rabi ul-Thani, Rabi ul-Aakhir)
  5. Jumada al-Awwal or Jumadi ul Awwal (Jumada I)
  6. Jumada al-Thani or Jumadi ul Thani or Jumadi ul Aakhir (or Jumada al-Aakhir) (Jumada II)
  7. Rajab (Full name: Rajab al-Murajjab)
  8. Sha’ban (Full name: Sha’ban al-Muazzam) or commonly known as Shaban
  9. Ramzan or Ramadan (Full name: Ramadan al-Mubarak)
  10. Shawwal (Full name: Shawwal ul-Mukarram)
  11. Dhu al-Qadah or Zul Qadah
  12. Dhu al-Hijjah or Zul Hijjah

In the Quran, Allah says that out of the twelve months, four months are very sacred. These include the 11th month, the 12th month, the first month, and the 7th month.

Also Read: 3 Best Apartment Loan Options


We have tried to understand in detail “What is the date today in Urdu” and have also tried to comprehend its history.

If you still have any questions related to this, you can comment or email us. We will try to answer all your questions.

Leave a Comment